top of page


Latest news on the Hong Kong to Puerto Galera Yacht Race


Less than a month to go!

Mandrake III at the start of the 2017 San Fernando Race

Entries are flowing in with just under a month to go until the start of the first Hong Kong to Puerto Galera Yacht Race (16 and 17 April). The Hong Kong to Puerto Galera Yacht Race will be the second longest Category 1 offshore race in Asia; second only to the Club’s Hong Kong to Vietnam Race and will take competitors on a 650nm passage to Puerto Galera on the island of Mindoro in the Philippines.

Standard Insurance Centennial Crew - Start of 2017 San Fernando Race

A regular competitor in the Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club offshore races, Philippines entry Standard Insurance Centennial, is joining the Race on their new boat, a Reichel Pugh 75 (which was originally named Titan XII before previous owner Frank Pong changed it to Jelik 3) Her latest owner Ernesto Echauz commented on the team’s preparations and what he expects in this first Hong Kong to Puerto Galera Yacht Race, “Standard Insurance Centennial is currently being refitted, and we expect to be on the water by the end of March for sea trials just before the start of the Race. This race may be quite similar to the Rolex China Sea Race except for the last 100nm in the approach towards Puerto Galera. With the start later in April, the north-easterly wind may not be as strong; especially closer to the Island of Luzon - therefore the routing on the last 100nm may set the overall race strategy. The Reichel Pugh 75 should do fine on offshore races in both light and heavy conditions, which its refitting has been designed to do!”

A variety of boats are taking part in the much anticipated first edition. Amongst the fleet are racers and cruisers, the biggest being being Peter Cremers’ Warwick 75 Shahtoosh who came first in their division and 5th Overall in the 2018 Rolex China Sea Race – another of Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club’s offshore races and which finishes in Subic Bay which is to the north of Puerto Galera in the Philippines. With Overall Winner of the 2018 Rolex China Sea Race Fred Kinmonth and Nick Burns GTS 43 Mandrake III also in the lineup, all eyes will be on the Yellowbrick tracker to see who will be victorious in this inaugural Race.

In closing, Echauz added, “Although we have done many races from Subic Bay and passing through the Verde Island Passage, where Puerto Galera is located, this will in fact be the first time that we will be finishing in Puerto Galera itself. Finishing the maiden race becomes more exciting, as we are the only boat representing the Philippines!”

If you are interested in joining history, whilst the entry deadline for the race is 15 March late entries may be accepted until 1800hrs on Friday 22 March 2019.

See you on the start line!


bottom of page